I picked up a book Brain on Fire at airport about a girl in her 20’s who all of sudden is acting very odd, like she has dementia, schizophrenia, psychosis, bipolar disorder…it turns out she had ovarian cancer that was cured previously and it led to a spike in her white blood cells and it took quite some time for Doctors to figure this out.  She was also having seizures.  Reading her actions reminded me of my Mom and while not the same scenario this author did the make the point of saying if her parents had not kept pressing doctors she could have ended up in mental illness facility or nursing home.  It made me think this could happen to others, and that is pretty scary as many don’t have a lot of money or great health care.  The author was at very good hospitals in New York and they could not figure this out for longest time.  It is scary to think some could be institutionalized that could actually be cured.  It made me sad too, I don’t think a lot of testing was done on my Mom but I really don’t know…I would suggest everyone keep very good notes of all lab work done with results in case a case like this could ever come up – especially with a younger person being diagnosed with dementia.

