We decided this Easter to just visit my Mom at nursing home since she is unable to even stand and very hard to transport.  I rented the conference room from 9-11 and invited my Aunt who is a Guardian of another resident and also another resident who I am friendly with.  There were about 10 of us.  Apparently they give my Mom downers in the morning so she was pretty out of it at first.  I hate seeing her that way so right away I was a bit depressed but I had to keep my happy face on since my Kids were there and it was Easter. We brought them Easter baskets (the 3 residents in the party only) and we had a buffett of brunch items.  My Mom perked up about an hour after we arrived and started to engage a bit.  We stayed for 2 hours.  It is the first year I have not taken her anywhere so that is another milestone in this disease.  It is a sad one and I wonder what will be next.

