I recently read an article on disabled people ending up in nursing homes and it answered a question I had for the longest time. The first nursing home my Mom was at had a younger lady (30s-40s) who I was told by my Mom was homeless and ended up there. She also said this lady wanted to commit suicide. The home would not tell me any details due to the privacy laws, but I always wondered how she ended up in a nursing home. She seemed fine to me and probably when properly medicated, was. I am based in IL as I previously mentioned, so I don’t know if this applies to every state but there is a reason low-income, disabled and mentally ill people ended up in nursing homes here. I have seen this at every home I have been at, people who are much younger than the youngest in a home and it is just startling. The article stats IL violated the civil rights of people with disabilities by not giving them housing choices. This case is one of 3 similar class-action lawsuits to be resolved. These people are now to be offered more housing choices. The state will spend $10 million on housing for at least 1,100 cook county nursing home residents in the deal’s first stage. Advocates for the disabled said Illinois’ long practice of supporting institutional care and underfunding alternatives like supportive housing violates the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Olmstead decision. In 1999, the Supreme Court rules in Olmstead that unjustified institutionalization of people with disabilities was illegal discrimination. Taken from an article written by Carla K. Johnson, Southland News and Associated Press.

