My Mom’s MD set up appointment with a neurologist to have her re-evaluated. I took her last week in the pouring rain (discovered how tricky to push a wheelchair and hold umbrella at same time is), and we ended up being an hour early thanks to the nursing home giving me incorrect time. The receptionist asked about insurance, I said Medicaid only. When we met the doctor he was almost hostile and took me by surprise. What do I want him to do he asked. Why is she here? What do I expect? I said we wanted her re-evaluated because of the quick deterioration and the MD has set this up, hadn’t they talked? Begrudgingly he did a mini exam (tapping her elbows, having her look a certain way, etc.) and then told me there was nothing he could do. He said if she had fallen over a month ago she should have been looked at immediately. He said it is pointless to run tests, since she cannot follow instructions and won’t sit still in a CT scan or MRI. What he said made sense, although he could have been nicer for sure. He said I need to worry about quality of life for her, that she seemed content and to put her through testing would only agitate her. I half wonder if her being medicaid-only contributed to his tone of voice? Hmm…

