I have mentioned in previous posts my Mom has been misdiagnosed as bipolar, schizophrenic, just depressed, and the latest is she may have ALS, better known as Lou Gehrig disease.  My Mom’s mom and brother died from this and I know it too well.  It hits hard and fast and is absolutely terrible, reduces you to a baby in no time.

So I know my Mother does not have this.  Could she develop it, it is a possibility but I know her diagnosis from 2006 of Pick’s Disease is correct and the trouble with Picks Disease is it is not common, and is still rather unknown to the medical community.

If you believe your loved one has Pick’s but is being told they have something else, push for a brain scan.  Don’t let the “experts” diagnose as they are not always right in gray areas such as Picks.  You may need not only one other opinion, but 2 or 3.  I know, i have been there, done that.

